Saturday, 21 January 2017

Review of The Fifth Letter by Nicola Moriarty

The Fifth Letter
By Nicola Moriarty
Publication Date: 23rd February 2017
Publisher: Penguin 
Pages: 368
Genre: Drama, Adult Fiction
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley


Amazon UK / Amazon US


Joni, Trina, Deb and Eden.


Best friends since the first day of school. Best friends, they liked to say, forever.

But now they are in their thirties and real life - husbands, children, work - has got in the way. So, resurrecting their annual trip away, Joni has an idea, something to help them reconnect.

Each woman will write an anonymous letter, sharing with their friends the things that are really going on in their lives.

But as the confessions come tumbling out, Joni starts to feel the certainty of their decades-long friendships slip from her fingers.

Anger. Accusations. Desires. Deceit. 

And then she finds another letter. One that was never supposed to be read. A fifth letter. Containing a secret so big that its writer had tried to destroy it. And now Joni is starting to wonder, did she ever really know her friends at all?


The Fifth Letter is a story that follows the lives of four best friends. Although in recent years, their friendship has become strained due to everyone having children and getting married well that is except from Joni. While she is married, she doesn't have children and feels that due to this the others push her away as she doesn't relate to them. 
They all normally go on a girls holiday every year, no children or husbands just them like it was when they started doing the holiday's years previous. When they arrive at the house where they would be staying, they are all not pleased at all. It is not what Joni paid for at all, although they some forget all about it, once the wine gets opened. It isn't long before one of them, says about writing a letter confessing or telling a secret. Something that none of them know about each other. They don't have to say it is them who wrote the letter but they would all know that person's secret. 
Although after the fourth letter, one more appears which throws secrets and lies into the group of friends. One of them is hiding something, something that could not only destroy everyone lives but make them rethink everything they have every known. 
I loved The Fifth Letter, it has drama, life lessons and friendship. Having never read anything by Nicola before I was so thrilled by how much I loved the story and her writing style. My favourite character would be Joni, reading about her story made me feel a range emotions. She just like the rest of the girls has issues going on in her life, between her marriage, the secrets she is keeping and her desire to be a mother, life isn't helping her one bit but she doesn't let these things stop her from trying to be happy. 
The Fifth Letter is not a story to be missed! I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good drama with added secrets and lies. It will be perfect for fans of Jane Fallon and Isabelle Bloom. 
Friendship, Life and Drama. 



Another day, another book, 
      post signature

No comments :

Post a Comment

Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog! Leave a link and I will be sure to visit your site, too!

Blog Design by Get Polished | Copyright 2012-2017 23 Review Street.