Wednesday, 3 September 2014

Review of The Summer Guest by Emma Hannigan

The Summer Guest
By Emma Hannigan
Publication Date: 31st July 2014, 367 pages
Publisher: Headline
Genre: Friendship, Romance, Woman's Fiction
Format: Paperback
Source: Borrowed from Pretty Little Memoirs

Amazon UK / Amazon US


Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy, a lovely, warm, Irish family saga of three generations of women coming together one magical summer in the small seaside town of Caracove Bay

Lexi and her husband Sam have put their heart and soul into renovating No. 3 Cashel Square. Lexi's mother thinks it's high time they had a baby, but Lexi's thriving art gallery keeps her more than busy.  Plus her headstrong niece Amelie seems to have practically moved in. 


And then, just as summer arrives, a mysterious stranger knocks on the door. Kathleen Williams has come from America, longing to see the house in Cashel Square where she was born, over sixty years ago.  

Kathleen's visit is tinged with sadness but she finds comfort and laughter with Lexie and Amelie.  Soon the three women are sharing their hearts, tears and secrets, little knowing their unexpected friendship will touch them all in more ways than they can imagine...
Lexi and Sam have lived in No.3 Cashel Square from just after the got married, it was a home that they repaired and renovated until they spent every last penny. Living in Cavacove Bay is perfect for them, being near to most of their family is great, although in other ways it is not so great. Even when Lexi's mother is being controlling and will not take no for a answer. 
Lexi owns an art gallery in the little bay community, since she had a accident that stopped her painting, owning a art gallery is the next best thing and it is a business that Lexi puts everything into. Getting to meet amazing artists and people everyday is something Lexi loves and getting to do it everyday is a dream come true. 
Amelie is Lexi's niece, she is going through a rebellious faze that teenagers often go though (Everyone knows the one I am talking about).With her parents under stress already, she has taken to staying with her Aunt and Uncle, more and more. 
Being at that age where she wants a boyfriend, she picks one of the boys that has to be a bad boy. Which in turn lead Amelie to do some quite silly things that affects the people who love and care for her the most. 
Katherine once lived in the house that Lexi and Sam own, years ago before moving on to bigger and better thing in America at quite a young age.
 Although, she was young when they moved she can still picture the house and town as if it was a printed in front of her. 
So, being able to see the transform that has happened to the town and house was something she never thought she would be able to see again, although thanks to her husband Jackson, she is back in her first home and ready to experience everything it has to offer and much more.
It doesn't take long for the three woman to connect with stories, lives and issues that they are facing, their friendship is such a beautiful thing to read about, each helping the others in ways they didn't even realise. With the laughter, love, romance, family, friendship, secrets and memories it is a great book to read and devour entirely. 
The Summer Guest is a book that will make your cry, laugh and break your heart with the story, characters and the connection that these three woman share, up until the very last page. It is a story that shows a different side to friendships and reflects that no matter your age, you can find people who love you for you, no matter what. 
If I had to sum this book up in three words, they would be Heartbreaking, Memorable and Beautiful


Another day, another book,

post signature

1 comment :

  1. I have this book on my kindle, I'm glad you like it so much, I can't wait to read it now!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog! Leave a link and I will be sure to visit your site, too!

Blog Design by Get Polished | Copyright 2012-2017 23 Review Street.