Friday, 30 August 2013

Review of The Girl Behind The Curtain by Stella Knightley

 
Sarah Thomson and Marco Donato's complicated love affair continues - their passion is a deep one but both have been badly hurt before and are wary of exposing their vulnerabilities to the other.

Meanwhile, Sarah begins to research a new subject . . .

It's the Roaring Twenties and Katherine Hazleton is determined to be a star. Escaping her rigid upbringing in the Home Counties, she travels to Weimar Berlin, getting a job as a wardrobe girl at Max Reinhardt's theatre. One of the theatre's stars is a young Marlene Dietrich. Inspired, Katherine decides to reinvent herself as Kitty Katkin. Writing her own bawdy songs to accompany her risqué dance routines, Kitty is soon a sensation. She is in love with Berlin and her handsome musician lover, Josef. But Germany is about to change.

Will Kitty and Sarah find the love they truly deserve?
 
  
 
I have been waiting for the last book to arrive since I finished the second one. I was really excited to find out the ending to the hidden women's trilogy and also what happens to the amazing characters that I have grown to love over the course of the book series. I just knew that from reading the blurb on the back of the book that it would be a great ending to this wonderful book series.
 
 
Just like the other two books this final one is set in two points of views, Sarah Thomson is back this time in Berlin teaching English to students. It is recapping over the time that she spend in Berlin, the people she meet there and also about Marco Donato and the connection they share with each other.
 
When Sarah is in Berlin she begins researching the life of Katherine Hazelton or as her stage name Kitty Katkin. Kitty is a singer and performer from the early 1900s, her story though starts in 1930 in a club. Her story is also set in Berlin and her life there, her life is just as complicated as Sarah's. When Kitty meets Otto Schmidt, a musician and later become the one person she can rely on the most as a friend and as a lover.
 
Sarah already has friends that she knew from years previous, these being Clare and Harry. So after Sarah finds a old box that is full of years old secrets, she can't help but feel the need to read about the secrets and people that they once belonged to. Reading the diary that was included in the box, Sarah began reading about the life of Kitty and the loves of her life.
 
As well as reading about Kitty love story, Sarah was still trying to figure out her own with Marco who she felt such a connection too yet didn't know what to make of this mysterious man that held a part of her life. Yet when Steven comes into picture she is conflicted by the two men in her life and the choices that she has to make. Yet after read about all of these three women she knows what she must do, as because of them she now knows what true love is and what lengths people will go to for that one person who make your life whole.
 
This is a amazing conclusion to this spectator series, that contained everything you could want in a book. It had characters with depth and were very likeable, it had sexy and passionate themes
 
If I had to sum up this book in three words they would be Amazing, Powerful and Unforgettable.
 
Though if I had to sum up this whole series in a sentence it would be, 'Passionate love stories that stretches across years yet are so powerful and touching that they live on in your heart forever'.
 
I would recommend this book series to anyone who love romance with added passionate sex that leaves you wanting more, for fans of M Leighton and C. L. Parker.
 
Thank you to Hodder & Stoughton for giving me a copy to read.
 
The reviews of the first two books in the Hidden Women's Series are below:-
 
The Girl Behind The Mask - Book One
 
 
The Girl Behind The Fan - Book Two
 
 



 
Stella Knightley is the author of twenty-six novels published under other names. The Girl Behind the Curtain is the third and final book in the Hidden Women series, which blends the daring stories of historical women of note with an erotically-charged contemporary love affair which will delight the fans of Fifty Shades. Stella grew up in the west of England and now lives in London.
 
Another day, another book,  
 
post signature

1 comment :

  1. Thank you for the great review! I will give this series a try. :)
    -Dilettantish Reader

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog! Leave a link and I will be sure to visit your site, too!

Blog Design by Get Polished | Copyright 2012-2017 23 Review Street.