Saturday, 23 September 2017

'Saturday Shelf Showcase' #6

'Saturday Shelf Showcase' is a weekly event on a Saturday which draws attention to the books that are due out in the coming week that I can't wait to read or that I think others will like to read. 

Wednesday, 6 September 2017

Blog Tour - One Day In December by Shari Low

Publication Date:
Publisher: Aria Fiction
Pages: 296
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Fiction
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley

By the stroke of midnight, a heart would be broken, a cruel truth revealed, a devastating secret shared, and a love betrayed. Four lives would be changed forever, One Day in December. One morning in December... Caro set off on a quest to find out if her relationship with her father had been based on a lifetime of lies. Lila decided today would be the day that she told her lover's wife of their secret affair. Cammy was on the way to pick up the ring for the surprise proposal to the woman he loved. And Bernadette vowed that this was the day she would walk away from her controlling husband of 30 years and never look back. One day, four lives on a collision course with destiny...

Monday, 26 June 2017

Review of Willow Cottage - Christmas Cheer by Bella Osborne

Willow Cottage - Christmas Cheer
By Bella Osborne
Publication Date: 20th October 2016
Publisher: Avon
Pages: 111
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Chick-Lit
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley


Amazon UK / Amazon US

Beth is running away. With her young son Leo to protect, Willow Cottage is the lifeline she so desperately needs. Overlooking the village green in a beautiful Cotswolds idyll, Beth sees a warm, caring and safe place for little Leo. When she finally uncovers the cottage from underneath the boughs of a weeping willow tree, Beth realises this is far more of a project than she bargained for and the locals are more than a little eccentric! A chance encounter with gruff Jack, who appears to be the only male in the village under thirty, leaves the two of them at odds but it’s not long before Beth realises that Jack has hidden talents that could help her repair more than just Willow Cottage. Over the course of four seasons, Beth realises that broken hearts can be mended, and sometimes love can be right under your nose…

Saturday, 17 June 2017

Blog Tour - The Mothers of Lovely Lane by Nadine Dorries

The Mothers of Lovely Lane #3
By Nadine Dorries
Publication Date: 15th June 2017
Publisher: Head Of Zeus
Pages: 464
Genre: Historical, Drama, Fiction
Format: Hardback
Source: Publisher


Amazon UK / Amazon US

Noleen Delaney is one of an army of night cleaners at St Angelus hospital in Liverpool. Since her husband was injured in the war, she has supported her five children. With help from her eldest, Bryan – a porter's lad – the family just about gets by. When Finn, her youngest, passes the eleven plus exam, Noleen feels faint. Allowing Finn to attend the grammar will stretch her purse too far. When Bryan steps in to help, the results rock the St Angelus community. As the nurses of Lovely Lane near their final exams, Noleen will find herself tested, and her heart broken. Just how far can a mother’s love stretch?
My Review 
I have been a big fan of The Lovely Lane Series, to shows the true sense of community, friendship and family all rolled in one amazing series. Having read the first two books in the series, I was excited to find out there would be another book from the series which has been one of my favourite historical drama series.
St Angelus is a place where many people come when they are sick or injured, though with the war over, things are changing and progressing with the times ahead of the staff and not everyone is happy about it. A lot of people were lost during the war and not one person in the book has been untouched by the hurt and devastation of losing a friend, family member or someone they loved. 
Where the other books have been about the war and the hospital, this book's theme is about a mother's love and the lengths they will go to, to get what they want and to help others. This is the case for Noleen who has seen her fair share of hurt and Bronia who doesn't know who to turn to, when life starts getting hard. 
Each character has a depth and their story line's are so touching and unique from each other, which is why I can't really pick a favourite character as every character in the book is different and there is something I like in all of them, whether it is the woman who is trying her best to make the best of a bad situation or the man who has seen so much loss that he has lost himself along the way as well. 
The Mothers of Lovely Lane is another beautifully written novel by Nadine Dorries, with its characters, storyline and sense of community it truly makes this book a wonderful read. 
Three Words
Amazing, Lovely and Moving. 
My Rating
Another day, another book, 

Monday, 8 May 2017

Review of Full Exposure (Hands On #3) by Cathryn Fox

Full Exposure (Hands On #3)
By Cathryn Fox
Publication Date: 5th September 2016
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Pages: 86
Genre: Romance, Erotica, Contemporary, Adult Fiction
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 

Amazon UK / Amazon US


I’ve just had the best two weeks of my life! Who’d have guessed that a big part of my rehab would involve giving a gorgeous psychologist private lessons in sex? The problem? I’m hooked. I want more and that wasn’t part of the deal. But I have a job to go back to, and she’s already pushing me away. So what the hell am I going to do? Still, as a quarterback, I know some things need a playbook and I’m used to winning. So before I walk away from this incredible thing between us, I’m going to use every strategy I know to convince her that the only hands she needs are mine…
My Review
As soon as I finished Body Contact I jumped straight into this final part of the series, I had been so hooked since I started reading the first book and I couldn't wait to see what happens to Danielle and Jack. With the two weeks coming to an end, Danielle and Jack's sexual education is ending, although things have changed since they started. They have both grown in different ways. With Danielle starting a new job and Jack thinking about going back to his career, they seem to be heading in different directions away from each other. 
Just when it looked like things were pushing them together, they go further apart. I felt like shouting at them as they want to be with each other and the reader wants them to be together, why can't they get their act together! Everything seems to happen in this final part they finally sleep together, Jack gets a great opportunity, Danielle finally gets the chance to set herself up with her career and their best friends may be starting something. (Maybe a spin-off story!?) The only thing that is needed is for Danielle and Jack to get together. 
I loved both Danielle and Jack, their relationship is one that seems perfect yet it has it faults. They are both so different from each other, but it is what makes them so right for each other. 
Full Exposure is a brilliant end to one of my favourite series by far. It has romance, sex, friendship and most of all humour, which makes for a great story!
Three Words
Captivating, Exciting and Hot.
My Rating
Another day, another book, 
post signature

Friday, 5 May 2017

Review of How To Stuff Up Christmas by Rosie Blake

How To Stuff Up Christmas
By Rosie Blake
Publication Date: 5th November 2015
Publisher: Corvus
Pages: 324
Genre: Romance, Fiction, Drama
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher


Amazon UK / Amazon US



'Tis the season to be jolly. Unless you've found an intimate picture of another woman on your fiance's phone... Eve is heartbroken after discovering her fiance is cheating on her. Being surrounded by the joys of Christmas is more than Eve can bear, so she chooses to avoid the festivities by spending Christmas alone on a houseboat in Pangbourne. Eve gets an unexpected seasonal surprise when handsome local vet Greg comes to her rescue one day, and continues to visit Eve's boat on a mission to transform her from Kitchen Disaster Zone to Culinary Queen. But where does Greg keep disappearing to? What does Eve's best friend Daisy know that she isn't telling? And why is there an angry goose stalking Eve's boat? 
My Review 
I am a big fan of Christmas books, even more so the ones that I read after Christmas as it makes me feel the joy and happiness that Christmas always brings. Eve is so excited as this will be her first Christmas as an engaged couple but that is until she find out that the man she planned to spend the rest of her life with has cheated on her, quite a few times right under her nose. 
So when Eve decide that she will be getting away for Christmas this year, she knows that it will throw up problems everywhere, especially with her family.  Taking her dog and escaping to a small town where no one knows her problems seems like the best idea but it also means that she will have to go back to her life sometime. 
Being a vet was never what Greg originally had planned but sometimes life throws you into a situation then you just have to roll with it. Greg isn't looking for new relationship, what with his mother and her health, he hardly has any time for a personal life. When he saves Eve from the swan which seemed to be taking up residence on the front of her house boat, he is captivated by the women who needed his help. It doesn't take long before, Greg is teaching her how to make some easy dishes making her turn into a new woman able to cook a meal and not someone who needs to be looked after. 
Although whilst being away from her normal life, Eve is starting to forget about the troubles and issues back home. But as her time in this small piece of happiness is coming to an end, Eve isn't sure what she wants or who she wants in it. Then again, sometimes it is a time for Christmas miracles as they are the best surprise yet. 
I loved Marmite, he is one of the sweetest and funniest dog's I have read about. Throw in a crazy swan that seems to want to get the best of him, it is one of the craziest books I have ever read in that sense. I loved the recipes that were included in the book, it gave the book a little extra to the already brilliant story. 
How To Stuff Up Christmas is an amazing novel which is perfect to read at anytime of the year, preferably Christmas! With its joy, happiness and festive theme it is a perfect wonderland novel. 
Three Words
Joyful, Humorous and Memoriable. 
My Rating
Another day, another book, 
post signature

Thursday, 4 May 2017

Review of Sunshine and Secrets - Willow Cottage #1 by Bella Osborne

Sunshine and Secrets - Willow Cottage #1
By Bella Osborne
Publication Date: 7th July 2016
Publisher: Avon
Pages: 99
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Fiction
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 


Amazon UK / Amazon US 


Beth is running away. With her young son Leo to protect, Willow Cottage is the lifeline she so desperately needs. Overlooking the village green in a beautiful Cotswolds idyll, Beth sees a warm, caring home for little Leo. When she finally uncovers the cottage from underneath the boughs of a weeping willow tree, Beth realises this is far more of a project than she bargained for and the locals are more than a little eccentric! A chance encounter with gruff Jack, who appears to be the only male in the village under thirty, leaves the two of them at odds but it’s not long before Beth realises that Jack has hidden talents that could help her repair more than just Willow Cottage. Over the course of four seasons, Beth realises that broken hearts can be mended, and sometimes love can be right under your nose…
My Review 
Willow Cottage is a needing a bit of a makeover, so when Beth decides to buy the Willow Cottage she is in for a bit of a shock at how much work is needed to turn this small cottage into the home her and her son need. Beth's life in London has come to a sudden end, so coming to a small village in the middle of nowhere is a big change for her, having gotten use to the busy life of London. 
Jack has lived in the small village for quite a while and it has become his home, so having a new person arrive is surprising and throws him completely off. I couldn't tell if Jack likes Beth as he gets easily frustrated with her throughout the book and then there is Beth who doesn't want another relationship, with her long-term relationship taking a sour turn which was her driving force in making a location change. 
With how much work needs to be done on Willow Cottage, Beth needs all the help she can get which in this case is Jack. Throw in a crazy old man who is keeps appearing under the tree in her garden and not to mention the cost of how much Willow Cottage will cost to fix up properly. The issues at Willow Cottage is only just starting.
The book is told from two different locations, with Beth in the Cotwolds and with Carly in London. Carly is having her own relationship problems, expecting and wanting her boyfriend to propose to her is driving her crazy. So when he plans a nice weekend away from the two of them, Carly expect that this will be the perfect time for a proposal but things never do run smoothly.
Whenever there is animals in the book they always become my favourite character, this book is no different. Doris who is Jack's dog has a quirky personality, one that made me laugh multiple times from reading the antics that she get up to when she is staying at Beth's house.
Sunshine and Secrets is a brilliant first part to this lovely new series, with its dream like house that I would love to live in and the characters which have so much depth and emotion. I can't wait to read Christmas Cheer to find out what happens next. 
Three Words
Brilliant, Charming and Moving. 
My Ratings
Another day, another book, 
post signature

Blog Design by Get Polished | Copyright 2012-2017 23 Review Street.