Monday, 24 April 2017

Review of The Vets At Hope Green - Part One by Sheila Norton

The Vets At Hope Green - Part One
By Sheila Norton
Publication Date: 19th January 2017
Publisher: Ebury Digital 
Pages: 90
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Fiction
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley


Amazon UK / Amazon US


Working as a receptionist in a London vets, Sam is living far from her idea of a simple life. She’s always broke, rents a tiny flat, and is constantly arguing with her boyfriend. But the worst part is that her career is going nowhere. She wants to be a vet, but the most contact time with the animals she has is a quick hello when she books in their next appointment.
Something’s got to give, so when her parents suggest visiting her Nana Peggy in a small quiet picturesque village, she agrees, thinking a bit of R&R could do her good.
But rest and relaxation may not be the order of the day. Poor Nana Peggy’s lovely dog Rufus is unwell, and Sam can’t help but grow fond of him. With the help of Joe the local vet, a charming yet strangely distant man, Sam sets out on looking after him, despite her London life trying to call her back…
My Review
Sam's life hasn't been going to plan, with her career at a standstill and her life in London not cracked up to what she thought it would be, Sam is unsure of what to do with her life now. Wanting to get away for the big city of London, Sam decides to go and visit her Nana Peggy. 
Being the country gives Sam time to think about what she wants, although the more time she spends in Hope Green the more she feels at home. Her small run in with the gorgeous village vet, makes Sam think about her love life and is her boyfriend the person she can picture a future with. 
Life at Hope Green is one of complete peace but Sam isn't sure she could pick up her whole life and make a big move, but then again sometimes life works in mysterious ways making the choice for you instead. 
I loved Nana Peggy, she is such a sweet and likeable character. The way she is with her animals and her with Sam, she is willing to do anything for them and enjoys having someone there to keep her company. I also loved Sam, her character is one which many people will be able to relate to. Having a career which she doesn't like, living in a city which always seems to be moving at a fast pace that she can keep up with. Not to mention a boyfriend who is the complete opposite to the person she fell in love with. 
The first installment of the book is a great book, it has everything I want in a story. Charming men, a small village which will make you wish you lived there and animals which are so cute, you will want them for yourself. 
Three Words
Hopeful, Captivating and Cute. 
My Rating

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Wednesday, 19 April 2017

Blog Tour - The Married Girls by Diney Costeloe


The Married Girls
By Diney Costeloe
Publication Date: 4th May 2017
Publisher: Head Of Zeus
Pages: 472
Genre: Historical, Fiction
Format: Hardback 
Source: Publisher


Amazon UK / Amazon US


Wynsdown, 1949. In the small Somerset village of Wynsdown, Charlotte Shepherd is happily married to farmer Billy. She arrived from Germany on the Kindertransport as a child during the war and now feels settled in her adopted home. 
Meanwhile, the squire’s fighter pilot son, Felix, has returned to the village with a fiancée in tow. Daphne is beautiful, charming… and harbouring secrets. After meeting during the war, Felix knows some of Daphne’s past, but she has worked hard to conceal that which could unravel her carefully built life. 
For Charlotte, too, a dangerous past is coming back in the shape of fellow refugee, bad boy Harry Black. Forever bound by their childhoods, Charlotte will always care for him, but Harry’s return disrupts the village quiet and it’s not long before gossip spreads.
The war may have ended, but for these girls, trouble is only just beginning. 
My Review

Ever since I read The Lost Soldier I have been a fan of Diney's books, her writing is brilliant and always makes me want to keep reading, even when it is 2am and I should be asleep! I have read The Girl With No Name although it was quite a while ago, so it took me a few chapters to remember the characters and the story. 
Like many of her other book, The Married Girls is filled with drama, secrets and unexpected twists and turns. Charlotte and Daphne are both very different from each other but they both have something in common...a past which they would like to forget. Although life doesn't work like that. 
With Harry's return to town, Charlotte is drawn to him. With old history and a caring nature, Charlotte can't help but what to make sure Harry is ok but it come at a price. Felix knew that Daphne had a past one that could ruin the perfect life they had built together, so it was easier and simpler to just forget about it. Although it doesn't take long before the secrets come to the surface and put the wheels in motion of the events which could make or break their perfect world. 
I don't think I could choose a favourite character, I normally do but in this case I am unable too. All the characters hold a different meaning to me. Whether is the one who care to much, the one who's past is catching up so quick they are unable to process it. Or it is the one who needs someone to make them feel grounded after the awful war, or it could be the one is knows the past could change everything they hold dear. Each one of the characters holds something which people can relate to in one way or another, to me that is important as it shows this book holds a lot more that just the pages that are in it. 
The Married Girls is a lovely sequel to The Girl With No Name, it has depth and character that make it one of the best sequels I have read. Each character has a voice and due to this you are able to know their lives and the struggles that they have faced or are still facing, following the end of the war. Yet it is their response and reaction that makes you see that they are willing to fight for their future and the life they have built as it is worth it in the end. 
Three Words 
Wonderful, Captivating and Enthralling. 
My Rating 
Author
Diney Costeloe is the bestselling author of THE THROWAWAY CHILDREN, THE RUNAWAY FAMILY, THE LOST SOLDIER, THE SISTERS OF ST CROIX and THE GIRL WITH NO NAME. She divides her time between Somerset and West Cork.     

Another day, another book, 

post signature

Tuesday, 28 March 2017

Blog Tour - Laura Lake & The Hipster Weddings by Wendy Holden

Laura Lake And The Hipster Weddings
By Wendy Holden
Publication Date: 9th March 2017
Publisher: Head Of Zeus
Pages: 400
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Fiction
Format: Hardback
Source: Publisher

Amazon UK / Amazon US


She'll need a triple-barrelled name for the castle one. She'll need a gallon of glitter for the woodland one. She'll need a lobster-shaped hat for the Shoreditch one. Laura Lake longs to be a journalist. Instead she's an unpaid intern at a glossy magazine – sleeping in the fashion cupboard and living on canapés. But she's just got her first big break: infiltrate three society weddings and write a juicy exposé. Security will be tighter than a bodycon dress, but how hard can it be? Cue disappearing brides, demanding socialites – and a jealous office enemy who will do anything to bring her down...
My Review

Laura Lake is a fantastically written character who is witty and very unique, she is one of these people who is quirky and bring the story to life just reading about her. Living in Paris, Laura had the world right outside of her front door and being able to share that experience with her grandmother Mimi makes it even better. 
Although sometimes life throws you a curve ball, in Laura's case that curve ball is a brilliant job in London. Something Laura would jump at the chance to take but she can't help be think about Mimi as well. Being hundreds of miles away from her grandmother and the city that make her believe in her dreams, is not something she ever imagined. So when Mimi tells her she must go and take this chance as she may not get another one, Laura takes flight to London. 
Working for a glamour magazine should be full of celebrities and posh lunches, but Laura feels it is more of a chore than a job she could fall in love with. Throw in having no money and coming face-to-face with a blast from the past. Laura wonders if giving up her life in Paris was worth it after all. 
I loved Laura's character, she was so likeable and down to earth. Someone who thinks of others before herself and dreams of the day when she is finally living her dream life. I also have a soft spot for Mimi, Laura's Grandmother. Her encouraging was the think that made Laura decide to follow her dreams and her wisdom and strength is something that you can see has rubbed off on Laura as well.
Laura Lake & The Hipster Weddings is a hilarious book about finding your dreams, following them and everything that comes after. You will laugh, cry, fall off your chair and cheer, your way through this book, just like I did. 
Three Words 
Inspirational. Hilarious and Charming. 
My Rating


Win free signed copies of Laura Lake And The Hipster Weddings by sharing your own hilarious wedding stories with me! I can't wait to read them! They might even inspire another novel! Please go to https://goo.gl/forms/xYaoaGCgxPpNR23g1  Thank you.  Love Wendy xx

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Wednesday, 1 March 2017

Blog Tour - Find Me by J.S. Monroe plus Q&A

Find Me
By J. S. Monroe
Publication Date: 9th February 2017
Publisher: Head Of Zeus
Pages: 400
Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Fiction
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher



Amazon UK / Amazon US



Five years ago, Rosa walked to the end of the pier in the dead of night. She looked into the swirling water, and jumped. She was a brilliant young Cambridge student who had just lost her father. Her death was tragic, but not unexpected.Was that what really happened? The coroner says it was. But Rosa’s boyfriend Jar can’t let go. He sees Rosa everywhere – a face on the train; a figure on the cliff. He is obsessed with proving that she is still alive. And then he gets an email. Find me, Jar. Find me, before they do…Is Rosa really dead? And, if she is, who is playing games with the ones she left behind? 
Review 

I didn't know what to expect when I first read the blurb of Find Me, it seemed like one of those books that would keep you guessing until the very end, not knowing what really happened and if you can believe the characters in the story and I can truly say it was just like I imagined, but in a good way! Find Me is a thrilling book that will take everything you know and throw it into the air all while watching the pieces as they fall down around you. 
Jar and Rosa were in love with each other, that is until the night when Rosa died. Even though it was classed as an accident, Jar doesn't believe that the woman who held his heart would just be gone with nothing more than a small accident. When he receives a email appearing from Rosa, he starts to think that maybe he was right and that she still is alive, but in doing so it also brings about the questions. If she is still alive, why didn't she come looking for him? Or better yet, why did she run away in the first place, claiming to be dead?
From reading this story, I admire Jar's character so much, you can truly see how much he loves Rosa and that he believes she is still out there somewhere. I liked the element of not knowing what would happen next, it is something I find keeps you enthralled in the story and pushes you to read as much as you can in one sitting. 
I know at this point most people would say that their favourite character would be Jar as he is the realistic choice, but I am going to be different and choose Rosa. Her character is one of strength, unpredictable and truly life changing in the sense that it is her story being told not just through her but through Jar and how he sees her as a person and not just the love of his life. 
Find Me is a captivating book that will have you itching to find out the ending and will surprise you throughout the book with the secrets that get revealed. J.S. Monroe has done a brilliant job of writing characters that fit perfectly together and make this story such an enjoyable read that everyone who likes mystery will love. 
Three Words
Captivating, Powerful and Thrilling.
My Rating

23 Review Street
Q&A with J. S. Monroe

Hi J. S. Monroe, thank you for being on my blog I am thrilled to be asking you questions about your book and books in general! I have read ‘Find Me’ and I can truly say it is one of the best books I have ever read. 

Find Me is one of those books that keeps you guessing throughout, did you know how it would end or were you just as surprised by the ending?
I’m delighted you enjoyed Find Me and thank you for inviting me to be on your blog. After writing about a third of the book, I realised that I was heading for an espionage resolution to the question of Rosa’s disappearance. I’d previously written five spy novels (under my own name, Jon Stock) and was confident that my spy theory would more than explain why and how Rosa had disappeared five years earlier in Cromer. Then I had lunch with my agent, Will Francis at Janklow & Nesbit, and he nodded politely over the soup to my summary of how the story would end. He liked it a lot, he said, but had I considered throwing in alternative possible reason for her disappearance – something to do with her past and her own character? In other words, steering Find Me into psychological thriller territory and away from the spy landscape that I was familiar with. I knew at once that he was right – I also knew that it would be a lot harder to do. But I was so excited by the challenge, more so than I’ve ever been about anything that I’ve written.
As I began to develop this second possible explanation for Rosa’s disappearance, I realised I didn’t want to let go of the first, espionage theory. Far from it. And so I developed both theories in tandem, aiming to make them equally credible (which did my head in, believe me!). Throw in some unreliable narration and you have the makings of a complex story. I hope that the reader doesn’t know which narrative to believe until the very last chapter – and even then there should be an element of doubt as the narrative gives one final flick of the tale…

If Find Me was made into a television show or movie, who could you imagine playing the characters and why?
We’ve already had a lot of film interest from America and in particular and a British writer who works on scripts with a fellow American scribe. The British guy could really relate to Find Me, for various personal reasons. Interestingly, he wants to switch round the sexes, making Jar a woman and Rosa a man, so it would be a woman looking for her apparently dead boyfriend. I was a little surprised when I first heard this, but there’s actually quite a lot sense in it. For one thing, there are, apparently, a lot more gifted young female leads right now in Hollywood than men.
I’ve had a long, exciting ride with Warner Bros after they optioned my 2009 thriller, Dead Spy Running, but I’ve also learnt not to get too excited until a film is actually greenlit in Hollywood. Warner Bros commissioned a number of different scripts, including one by Oscar winner Stephen Gaghan, and the project is currently with McG, the director of Terminator IV and Charlie’s Angels. The bottom line is that, almost eight years later, the film is still in development, but the latest word from McG is that he wants to turn it into a ten-part series for US TV, which would be great.
So, thinking of who might play the lead characters in a film of Find Me is a dangerous, premature game, but if pushed, and assuming the characters stay the same sex as they are in the book, how about Domhnall Gleeson for Jar and Kaya Scodelario for Rosa?

What inspires you to write and why?
Different things inspire me. The original inspiration for Find Me lies in the opening scene. Jar is on his way to work in London, taking the escalator down into Paddington station. Suddenly, he sees Rosa, his girlfriend from university, passing him on the up escalator. Except that she died five years ago and I knew Find Me wasn’t a ghost story. A former girlfriend of mine days died a few years after we went out together at Cambridge University. Later, I thought I saw her on a station platform. I knew, of course, that it wasn’t her, but it set me thinking. What if?
In terms of reading, do you normally go for books of the same genre that you write or other genres instead?
When I’m writing a thriller, I tend to steer clear of other thrillers and read from completely different genres. I recently read and hugely enjoyed A Girl is a Half Formed Thing, by Eimear McBride (an extraordinarily original voice), and Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson, who does all sorts of clever things with the narrative. Psychological thrillers I’ve enjoyed include The Girl on The Train and, of course, Gone Girl. And I really liked Clare Macintosh’s I Let You Go.

What would your writing day look like?
I aim to write 1,000 new words a day. I begin by editing the previous day’s efforts and usually delete up to a quarter of what I’ve written. Early mornings are great if I’m on a roll. I have three teenage children so the house is quiet before breakfast. In winter, I load up the wood-burning stove, put on Radio 3 and write from 5am to 7am, before making the porridge for everyone’s breakfast. In the summer, I’ll do the same if it’s warm enough, but sit outside and write, under the apple tree. The worst time of day for me is just after lunch, when I’m feeling very sleepy. I really should just be honest with myself and give in to a half hour siesta. Sometimes I do, but I’ve yet to avoid the guilt.

If you could describe your writing style in three words, what would they be?
Pace, poise, rounded.

 Thank you so much for being on 23 Review Street, I can’t wait to read what you write next!
Thank you – it’s been a real pleasure.

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Saturday, 18 February 2017

Review of The Bad Boys Gift by Sara Daniel

The Bad Boys Gift
By Sara Daniel
Publication Date: 29th March 2016
Publisher: Amazon Kindle
Pages: 72
Genre: Romance, Fiction, Contemporary 
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley





His gift is the only thing left from the love they shared…and she plans to sell it.Former bad boy, now famous artist, Zane DeMonde laughs off an engraved invitation to return to Regret Hollow, the same town that booted him out fifteen years ago. When he discovers the woman who once broke his heart is putting his professional reputation at risk by selling his old paintings, he’s no longer laughing. He’ll do anything to stop her, even return to town … even put his heart in jeopardy again.High school art teacher Julianne Truman's last chance to save her beloved art department from budget cuts is to sell the old artwork Zane gifted her. Her heart breaks to remove the final traces of him from her life, but she needs to finally move on from the love she never got over.Julianne’s life belongs to her students, and Zane’s only goal is to protect his art. But the moment they wrap their arms around each other, their old attraction flares to life hot enough to incinerate them and their best intentions. 

My Review 
Julianne Truman loves and is dedicated to her job as a high school art's teacher but with funding issues and life, it seems like her job has a time limit on it. Living the same town where she grew up, has not made her life easy, in some ways it has made it harder as she still has the memories every time she sees something that reminds her of him. 
Zane DeMonde had his heart broken when he was younger and has promised himself that it will never happen to him again. Moving away and making something of himself, he pushed all that heartache and pain in his art, making him one of the best artist around. So when he finds out that, Julianne is selling the art work he gave her years ago, he decides that he will do anything to make sure she don't sell it. 
Being back in his hometown Zane is unprepared for the feelings he once had to come rushing back to him, Julianne knows that what happened years ago was something that has haunted her everyday since it has happened. Coming face to face with each other, it is clear that no matter how much time passes sometimes love conquers all, no matter what but first it has to get off its high horse to see what is in front of them before it is too late. 
The Bad Boys Gift is a story about love and dreams, how can you follow your dreams but also find or keep love in the process. The characters are beautifully written and I was amazed by the detail that went into the art descriptions in the story, I would recommend this book to anyone who has a soft spot for art or someone who loves a book about finding what has always been in front of you all along. 
Three Words
Romantic, Brilliant and Inspirational. 
My Rating

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Friday, 17 February 2017

Cover Reveal: The Second Chance Tea Shop

I am so thrilled to reveal the cover of 'The Second Chance Tea Shop'.
 As soon as Aria Fiction asked I jumped at the chance. The book is released on the 1st April 2017 in eBook format. 
The thing that attracted my attention first was the name, I always love books linked to tea shops and then when I saw the cover for the first time I fell in love with it instantly. The colours, the design and the gorgeous tea shop on the front makes me want to jump in the pages of the book. 



About the book
Second chances, new loves and scrumptious cakes, in this heart-warming novel. Perfect for all fans of Fern Britton, Katie Fforde and Cathy Bramley.
Folllowing the tragic death of her beloved husband, Anna Hemingway decides it's time for a fresh start. So Anna and her three-year-old daughter Ellie, move to a picture-perfect cottage in the beautiful village of Little Somerby, and when she takes over the running of the village tea shop, Ellie and Anna start to find happiness again.
But things get complicated when Matthew Carter, the owner of the local cider farm, enters their lives. Throughout a whirlwind year of village fetes and ancient wassails, love, laughter, apple pie and new memories, life slowly blossoms again. But when tragedy strikes and history seems to be repeating itself, Anna must find the strength to hold onto to the new life she has built.
This beautiful, life-affirming debut novel marks the beginning of the Little Somerby series, and promises to make you smile, cry, reach for a cream tea, and long for a life in the perfect English countryside.

Links to pre-order:
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2ly3YQC



Fay Keenan
Fay Keenan was born in Surrey and raised in Hampshire, before finally settling back in the West Country. When Fay is not chasing her children around or writing, she teaches English at a local secondary school. She lives with her husband of fourteen years, two daughters, a cat, two chickens and a Weimaraner called Bertie in a village in Somerset, which may or may not have provided the inspiration for Little Somerby.

Follow Fay:
Twitter: @faykeenan
Facebook: @faykeenanauthor

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Monday, 6 February 2017

Templeton Cove Promo


Welcome to Templeton Cove…

It’s great to be here today and have the chance to tell your lovely visitors a little bit about my fictional UK seaside town of Templeton Cove.

It has always been a dream of mine to write a series of books set in the same small town…due to my obsession with many Nora Roberts series, Jill Shalvis’ Lucky Harbor series and Robyn Carr’s Virgin River series. All of these books influenced my love of small town romances and the dream of creating a huge cast of characters.

The debut book in the Templeton Cove series is Finding Justice. When my agent submitted this book to Harlequin, I was already writing book two, A Man Like Him, with the hope both books would be the start of a series. These books were soon contracted…you can imagine my hysteria when Harlequin offered me a contract for a further three (What Belongs To Her & Christmas At The Cove and Her Hometown Redemption) and then, a year later, another three (Saved By The Firefighter, Ethan’s Daughter (out Aug 2017) and an eight book which I am busy writing as we speak!

All the books can be read stand-alone and are a mix of mainstream romance and romantic suspense stories. I have some main recurring characters that pop up in, if not all, then certainly some of the books. The most popular of these characters for both my readers and I is the town’s matriarch, Marian Cohen. She’s feisty, fun and has a heart big enough to hold the whole world – she’s the oracle, the person all the young hero and heroines and secondary characters go to when they need help, comfort or advice. She is a joy to write every time!

The more Templeton Cove books I release, the more people seem to enjoy them. I love the Cove and its residents so much, I’m not entirely sure when I will ever consider the series finished but, for now, I’m just enjoying the ride J

If you like small-town romance, with a cast of quirky, fun and sentimental characters with lots of laughter, tears, suspense and adventure, I’d love you to give Templeton Cove a try!

Templeton Cove Trailer…


To buy any of Rachel’s books, please feel free to visit her websites for links and further novels…



Twitter: @rachelbrimble


Another day, another book, 
post signature

Blog Design by Get Polished | Copyright 2012-2017 23 Review Street.