Monday, 8 May 2017

Review of Full Exposure (Hands On #3) by Cathryn Fox

Full Exposure (Hands On #3)
By Cathryn Fox
Publication Date: 5th September 2016
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Pages: 86
Genre: Romance, Erotica, Contemporary, Adult Fiction
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 

Amazon UK / Amazon US


I’ve just had the best two weeks of my life! Who’d have guessed that a big part of my rehab would involve giving a gorgeous psychologist private lessons in sex? The problem? I’m hooked. I want more and that wasn’t part of the deal. But I have a job to go back to, and she’s already pushing me away. So what the hell am I going to do? Still, as a quarterback, I know some things need a playbook and I’m used to winning. So before I walk away from this incredible thing between us, I’m going to use every strategy I know to convince her that the only hands she needs are mine…
My Review
As soon as I finished Body Contact I jumped straight into this final part of the series, I had been so hooked since I started reading the first book and I couldn't wait to see what happens to Danielle and Jack. With the two weeks coming to an end, Danielle and Jack's sexual education is ending, although things have changed since they started. They have both grown in different ways. With Danielle starting a new job and Jack thinking about going back to his career, they seem to be heading in different directions away from each other. 
Just when it looked like things were pushing them together, they go further apart. I felt like shouting at them as they want to be with each other and the reader wants them to be together, why can't they get their act together! Everything seems to happen in this final part they finally sleep together, Jack gets a great opportunity, Danielle finally gets the chance to set herself up with her career and their best friends may be starting something. (Maybe a spin-off story!?) The only thing that is needed is for Danielle and Jack to get together. 
I loved both Danielle and Jack, their relationship is one that seems perfect yet it has it faults. They are both so different from each other, but it is what makes them so right for each other. 
Full Exposure is a brilliant end to one of my favourite series by far. It has romance, sex, friendship and most of all humour, which makes for a great story!
Three Words
Captivating, Exciting and Hot.
My Rating
Another day, another book, 
post signature

Friday, 5 May 2017

Review of How To Stuff Up Christmas by Rosie Blake

How To Stuff Up Christmas
By Rosie Blake
Publication Date: 5th November 2015
Publisher: Corvus
Pages: 324
Genre: Romance, Fiction, Drama
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher


Amazon UK / Amazon US



'Tis the season to be jolly. Unless you've found an intimate picture of another woman on your fiance's phone... Eve is heartbroken after discovering her fiance is cheating on her. Being surrounded by the joys of Christmas is more than Eve can bear, so she chooses to avoid the festivities by spending Christmas alone on a houseboat in Pangbourne. Eve gets an unexpected seasonal surprise when handsome local vet Greg comes to her rescue one day, and continues to visit Eve's boat on a mission to transform her from Kitchen Disaster Zone to Culinary Queen. But where does Greg keep disappearing to? What does Eve's best friend Daisy know that she isn't telling? And why is there an angry goose stalking Eve's boat? 
My Review 
I am a big fan of Christmas books, even more so the ones that I read after Christmas as it makes me feel the joy and happiness that Christmas always brings. Eve is so excited as this will be her first Christmas as an engaged couple but that is until she find out that the man she planned to spend the rest of her life with has cheated on her, quite a few times right under her nose. 
So when Eve decide that she will be getting away for Christmas this year, she knows that it will throw up problems everywhere, especially with her family.  Taking her dog and escaping to a small town where no one knows her problems seems like the best idea but it also means that she will have to go back to her life sometime. 
Being a vet was never what Greg originally had planned but sometimes life throws you into a situation then you just have to roll with it. Greg isn't looking for new relationship, what with his mother and her health, he hardly has any time for a personal life. When he saves Eve from the swan which seemed to be taking up residence on the front of her house boat, he is captivated by the women who needed his help. It doesn't take long before, Greg is teaching her how to make some easy dishes making her turn into a new woman able to cook a meal and not someone who needs to be looked after. 
Although whilst being away from her normal life, Eve is starting to forget about the troubles and issues back home. But as her time in this small piece of happiness is coming to an end, Eve isn't sure what she wants or who she wants in it. Then again, sometimes it is a time for Christmas miracles as they are the best surprise yet. 
I loved Marmite, he is one of the sweetest and funniest dog's I have read about. Throw in a crazy swan that seems to want to get the best of him, it is one of the craziest books I have ever read in that sense. I loved the recipes that were included in the book, it gave the book a little extra to the already brilliant story. 
How To Stuff Up Christmas is an amazing novel which is perfect to read at anytime of the year, preferably Christmas! With its joy, happiness and festive theme it is a perfect wonderland novel. 
Three Words
Joyful, Humorous and Memoriable. 
My Rating
Another day, another book, 
post signature

Thursday, 4 May 2017

Review of Sunshine and Secrets - Willow Cottage #1 by Bella Osborne

Sunshine and Secrets - Willow Cottage #1
By Bella Osborne
Publication Date: 7th July 2016
Publisher: Avon
Pages: 99
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Fiction
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 


Amazon UK / Amazon US 


Beth is running away. With her young son Leo to protect, Willow Cottage is the lifeline she so desperately needs. Overlooking the village green in a beautiful Cotswolds idyll, Beth sees a warm, caring home for little Leo. When she finally uncovers the cottage from underneath the boughs of a weeping willow tree, Beth realises this is far more of a project than she bargained for and the locals are more than a little eccentric! A chance encounter with gruff Jack, who appears to be the only male in the village under thirty, leaves the two of them at odds but it’s not long before Beth realises that Jack has hidden talents that could help her repair more than just Willow Cottage. Over the course of four seasons, Beth realises that broken hearts can be mended, and sometimes love can be right under your nose…
My Review 
Willow Cottage is a needing a bit of a makeover, so when Beth decides to buy the Willow Cottage she is in for a bit of a shock at how much work is needed to turn this small cottage into the home her and her son need. Beth's life in London has come to a sudden end, so coming to a small village in the middle of nowhere is a big change for her, having gotten use to the busy life of London. 
Jack has lived in the small village for quite a while and it has become his home, so having a new person arrive is surprising and throws him completely off. I couldn't tell if Jack likes Beth as he gets easily frustrated with her throughout the book and then there is Beth who doesn't want another relationship, with her long-term relationship taking a sour turn which was her driving force in making a location change. 
With how much work needs to be done on Willow Cottage, Beth needs all the help she can get which in this case is Jack. Throw in a crazy old man who is keeps appearing under the tree in her garden and not to mention the cost of how much Willow Cottage will cost to fix up properly. The issues at Willow Cottage is only just starting.
The book is told from two different locations, with Beth in the Cotwolds and with Carly in London. Carly is having her own relationship problems, expecting and wanting her boyfriend to propose to her is driving her crazy. So when he plans a nice weekend away from the two of them, Carly expect that this will be the perfect time for a proposal but things never do run smoothly.
Whenever there is animals in the book they always become my favourite character, this book is no different. Doris who is Jack's dog has a quirky personality, one that made me laugh multiple times from reading the antics that she get up to when she is staying at Beth's house.
Sunshine and Secrets is a brilliant first part to this lovely new series, with its dream like house that I would love to live in and the characters which have so much depth and emotion. I can't wait to read Christmas Cheer to find out what happens next. 
Three Words
Brilliant, Charming and Moving. 
My Ratings
Another day, another book, 
post signature

Wednesday, 3 May 2017

Review of Body Contact (Hands On #2) by Cathryn Fox

Body Contact (Hands On #2)
By Cathryn Fox
Publication Date: 15th August 2016
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Pages: 72
Genre: Romance, Erotica, Contemporary, Adult Fiction
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley


Amazon UK / Amazon US



Asking pro football player Jack Rider to teach me everything he knows about sex might have seemed like a good idea at the time, but now I’m not so sure I can handle a guy like him. I thought he’d just straight up do me, ridding me of my pesky virginity sooner rather than later. But no, he had his own ideas about bringing me up to speed on sex. His two weeks of slow seduction might just be the death of me, but since he’s the one in charge, I have to play the game his way. Not that I’m not enjoying it. I am. Who wouldn’t, right? I guess I just can’t help but wonder how I’ll ever let another man touch me after him.
My Review  
Body Contact follows straight on from the first book in this three part series, Danielle is still shocked that Jack Ryder, the guy who she could never imagine would help her out, is helping her with her sexual education. The fact that he is enjoying his time with Danielle is an added bonus.
This part of the series you get to meet Jack's family, who are brilliantly funny. You can see where he gets his dedication and charming nature. Helping Danielle is giving him something to focus on instead of wallowing in the fact his injury is still healing.
There is a lot more sexual education in this book than the first book, you also get to know the characters more and figure out their deep dark secrets. With their agreement being only two weeks, Danielle is eager to learn as much as she can but Jack is making sure to take his time in teaching her. Although the more time they both spend together, the more they both realise they are starting to feel more then just friendship towards each other.
I was rooting for both Jack and Danielle to get together properly as they seemed to care about each other's lives outside of the deal they had made. I was eager to read the third and final part of the series to find out how their relationship progresses as they are one of those couples who compliment each other so well.
I loved this book so much, it is a true Cathryn Fox story, in the sense that you get the romance side, the sexual side and the humorous side. Making this book the best it can be all the while making me want to read the third and final part straight away to see what happens with Danielle and Jack.
Body Contact will have you laughing with the antics that Danielle and Jack get up too. I would recommend everyone who loves a different type of romance, to read this book as it will definitely surprise you and want to read more books by Cathryn Fox.
Three Words
Hot, Sexy and Thrilling
My Rating 
Another day, another book, 
post signature

Tuesday, 2 May 2017

Review of Anonymous by Dani-Lyn Alexander

Anonymous
By Dani-Lyn Alexander
Publication Date: 1st April 2014
Publisher: Harper Impulse
Pages: 60
Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Romance 
Format: eBook
Source: Bought


Amazon UK / Amazon US


What happens when an online date is not what it seems?
After Ali's heart is broken, she decides to try Anonymous, a new dating website where you can retain complete anonymity while you search for your soul mate. When she discovers Joe, she thinks she may have at least found a new friend and decides to put her past behind her and move on.Several death threats and an attempt on her life force her back into contact with her soon-to-be ex, Mark, who is the lead detective on the case. The tension builds between them while Ali struggles to get over Mark and Mark races to find the maniac who's trying to kill her.When Ali meets up with her online flame, she finds he's anything but the friend she imagined…
My Review
I had been wanting to read Anonymous for ages, so when I had a gap in my reading list I jumped at the chance to dive straight into this highly addictive book. Ali has just come out of a long term relationship and wants to have a break before jumping into another serious relationship. So she decides to join a dating website, unsure of what she wants, she soon becomes friends with Joe who seems like lovely guy who has his own share of relationship problems. 
It is long before Ali starts receiving death threats and when a car nearly kills her, she is forced to turn to her ex-boyfriend to help find out who is behind the attacks. Moving forward from Mark seems even more complicated when he is watching her every move, to stop another incident from happening. 
So when Ali decides that meeting her new online possible relationship, she is thrown into a situation which is not at all what she expected especially as he isn't who he said he is. Sometimes being anonymous isn't as great as you once believe it is and could put you in more danger than you realise. 
I loved the relationship that Ali and Mark have, even though they have split up you can tell how much they care about each other and that they are not over each other. I wasn't sure whether I wanted them to get back together or if I wanted her to get together with Joe but I did want all the characters to be happy one way or another. They all had their faults but they were all likeable characters which make reading about them even more enjoyable. 
Anonymous is a book that will leave you in suspense with every page you turn, not knowing what is happening or if the characters will be safe. It is a book I highly recommend as it will surprise you and make you sigh with the turn of the last page, having been on a rollercoater of a journey with the characters. Anyone who loves romantic, cop drama novels will love this brilliant book by this fantastic author. 
Three Words
Addictive, Mysterious and Romantic. 
My Rating

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Monday, 1 May 2017

Review of The Seal's Rebel Librarian by Anne Calhoun

The Seal's Rebel Librarian
By Anne Calhoun
Publication Date: 1st March 2016
Publisher: Swerve
Pages: 124
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Fiction
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 


Amazon UK / Amazon US


Jack Powell never planned on leaving the Navy, but his final mission as a SEAL left him with a tremor and a bad case of nerves. He's home, taking some college classes and trying to figure out what comes next when he meets Erin Kent, a divorced college librarian with an adventurous bucket list and a mission to get her ex-husband's voice out of her head. Jack guides Erin through skydiving and buying the motorcycle of her dreams, blithely accepting Erin's promise that their relationship is purely temporary. But when Jack gets the chance to go back into the shadowy world of security contracting, can he convince Erin to break her word and join him on the adventure of a lifetime?
My Review 
Erin Kent is focusing on living life the way she wants now as she is divorced and finally feels free for the first time in her life. Being the librarian at the local college, Erin needs something to thrill her outside of the books and walls she calls her second home. Deciding that she is going to go ahead and purchase a motorbike to put the thrill back into her life now she is single and free. 
Jack Powell had his future as a SEAL all planned out, although sometimes things don't always go to plan. Now he is forced into the unknown and a life without his safety net of the SEAL's. Deciding to take some college classes whilst he thinks about what to do now, he is drawn in by the college librarian. 
It isn't long before Erin and Jack become more than just friends, their relationship is one that had me screaming at them mentally to get their act together. Although it is the challenges and issues that they have which pushes them apart when it should be doing the opposite. Having both been hurt in the past, they are apprehensive about love and what the future can bring, but sometimes you have to be a rebel and take life by the handle-bars to make it what you want. 
I loved the library theme of the story, even though it wasn't all set in the library having it featured in the book made me so excited to read about how it comes across in the story between Jack and Erin. I also loved how the story's theme was around second chances and figuring out what to do when life throws you a challenge. 
The Seal's Rebel Librarian is a book that is a book lover dream with a library, gorgeous male lead character and a thrilling book about romance outside of the pages of the book. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves books, Seal's (I mean the Navy type not the animal type, although they are cute as well!) and a romance story which is different in the most surprising way possible. 
Three Words
Thrilling, Sexy and Daring. 
My Rating
Another day, another book, 
post signature

Monday, 24 April 2017

Review of The Vets At Hope Green - Part One by Sheila Norton

The Vets At Hope Green - Part One
By Sheila Norton
Publication Date: 19th January 2017
Publisher: Ebury Digital 
Pages: 90
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Fiction
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley


Amazon UK / Amazon US


Working as a receptionist in a London vets, Sam is living far from her idea of a simple life. She’s always broke, rents a tiny flat, and is constantly arguing with her boyfriend. But the worst part is that her career is going nowhere. She wants to be a vet, but the most contact time with the animals she has is a quick hello when she books in their next appointment.
Something’s got to give, so when her parents suggest visiting her Nana Peggy in a small quiet picturesque village, she agrees, thinking a bit of R&R could do her good.
But rest and relaxation may not be the order of the day. Poor Nana Peggy’s lovely dog Rufus is unwell, and Sam can’t help but grow fond of him. With the help of Joe the local vet, a charming yet strangely distant man, Sam sets out on looking after him, despite her London life trying to call her back…
My Review
Sam's life hasn't been going to plan, with her career at a standstill and her life in London not cracked up to what she thought it would be, Sam is unsure of what to do with her life now. Wanting to get away for the big city of London, Sam decides to go and visit her Nana Peggy. 
Being the country gives Sam time to think about what she wants, although the more time she spends in Hope Green the more she feels at home. Her small run in with the gorgeous village vet, makes Sam think about her love life and is her boyfriend the person she can picture a future with. 
Life at Hope Green is one of complete peace but Sam isn't sure she could pick up her whole life and make a big move, but then again sometimes life works in mysterious ways making the choice for you instead. 
I loved Nana Peggy, she is such a sweet and likeable character. The way she is with her animals and her with Sam, she is willing to do anything for them and enjoys having someone there to keep her company. I also loved Sam, her character is one which many people will be able to relate to. Having a career which she doesn't like, living in a city which always seems to be moving at a fast pace that she can keep up with. Not to mention a boyfriend who is the complete opposite to the person she fell in love with. 
The first installment of the book is a great book, it has everything I want in a story. Charming men, a small village which will make you wish you lived there and animals which are so cute, you will want them for yourself. 
Three Words
Hopeful, Captivating and Cute. 
My Rating

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Blog Design by Get Polished | Copyright 2012-2017 23 Review Street.